Buying Land : Another One Bites The Dust

I checked out the property on Patricia’s Road, Edenhope, yesterday. To say I am disappointed is an understatement. The soil was beach-like – it was that sandy. I expected to see it overgrown with Pteridium (bracken). Oh no, it was overgrown in Melaleuca Uncinata (Broombrush). We couldn’t actually walk the block – it was that dense, so ended up walking around it via a track that had been carved through one of the adjacent blocks. It certainly is a nice spot. It backs onto a cute strand of stringybark and – what looks to be – a private pine plantation. But it wasn’t what I expected. Now I know why the online listing didn’t give too much detail.

If the land was given away (or priced at about a 20th of what it is listed at) I’d certainly give it a shot. But in its current state it is way too much work. Don’t get me wrong, I want a challenge but there are challenges and there are challenges. This is greening the desert type stuff. (Perhaps I am just being dramatic?)

Geoff Lawton, want to give me a hand?

Leave a Reply

