Dear Readers

Dear Readers,

I see there are a few of you now. Some of you I have spoken to. Some of you I haven’t. To my readers that have yet to send a comment, please do so, I would love to hear from you. Share with me your story. Share with me why you liked a post or stayed around long enough to read one. Write a comment here, or against another post, or send me an email at pavelbentham [at] gmail [dotcom] (obviously change the stuff in the square brackets to the appropriate characters).

Sincerely,

Pav B.

4 thoughts on “Dear Readers

  1. Dear Pavel,
    I’m glad I’ve found your blog. We share many similarities: I too live outside of the U.S., am currently a “wage slave” and have a partner who isn’t 100% on board with my simple living dreams. It’s refreshing to find a blog about someone who’s still planning their dream future, not already “there” (wherever “there” is) and trying to sell an ebook about it. I also enjoy your style of writing, so I’m looking forward to more posts. I understand you wish to remain anonymous, but I would love to read more about your background and business. Wishing you success with all my heart!

    • Hi Bele,

      Thanks for your message.

      I’m glad you find my blog too. It’s good to hear from people in similar situations to me. Makes me feel less crazy! 🙂

      You’re quite right about “there” being an unknown. I’m happy with that. What would like be without adventure? Well, I know exactly what it would be. It would be the life I wish to abandon. The life that revolves around work. A life that cannot be doing our health any good. A life that feels inauthentic. A life of “bad faith” as Sartre would have put it.

      I would like to write an eBook (or four) one day. I think it would be of some interest to a portion of the Australian population. We seem to be embarking on simpler times along with the rest of the world and it distinctly feels like a fundamental change rather than a mere fad. Well I hope so.

      Ah yes, that’s right, I am anonymous. I’m happy to share ANYTHING you would like to know, but just won’t go into particulars just yet. I run an environmentally-focused services business. My background; well that’s all over the place. I left school early – didn’t like it. Worked in various call centre jobs for 7 years – it was well-paid and easy. Enrolled in uni. Got part way through a business degree and changed it for a philosophy degree. That’s an ongoing project, which I will finish when I have time to think. I gained work in project administration and that took me into business analysis which I work in now. I have always worked with technology. I think technology can do a lot of good. However, I don’t think its wise for us to think that it will be the silver bullet. As the Productivity Paradox so compellingly submits: we should be well ahead of where we are now in productivity stakes based on the technological advancements we have made. That’s not to say that technology cannot provide more utility. But political and cultural influences have to drive for that end. That has been the downfall.

      My fear, if we put all of our eggs in the technology basket, is that we will dig ourselves into a deeper hole. Let’s borrow from what we know, I say. Let’s be less resource intensive. Let’s show some respect to our ancestors.

      Anyways, I look forward to hearing back from you Bele.

      Cheers, Pav.

      p.s. I think I may do a post on my stance on technology.

  2. Hello again!

    So we have one more thing in common, I also work with technology. A post with your opinions on the matter would be very interesting, as I also have mixed feelings. Relying too much on technology like we do now makes me a tad uneasy.

    I sounded bitter regarding eBooks and it was not my intetion — I just get frustrated because lately I only see more of the same. Books and blogs talking about the “whys” of simple living, and not enough “hows”. It reminds me of this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_ASIV2TvOg. You’re absolutely right about appealing to the Australian population, I would certainly be more open to buy a book on the subject written by someone in my own country.

    Regarding adventure, I couldn’t agree more. I avoid making long term plans (“where do you see yourself in 5 years” is probably the trickiest question in job interviews) as my life changed completely in the last few years, and I sure hope it keeps changing.

    Looking forward to hearing more from you as well, Pav.

    • I shall get around to such a piece some day. I think I need to take some time and be careful in how I articulate myself. It seems like one of those topics where if I am not precise enough people will be all “So you hate technology, do you?” or “How can you be critical of technology, you typed that post on a Macbook. Hypocrite.” Well, that’s the impression I get anyway.

      I think you’re right about eBooks. That’s why you should check out another great Australian blog called The Greening of Gavin. Gavin had a “green change” some years ago and has been writing about his adventures ever since. He has written great how-to eBooks on cheese making, cob oven building, DIY solar, and keeping backyard chickens. Perhaps you should be the first in your country to write about these things? 😉

      Great to hear from you again and I hope we can keep this conversation going.

Leave a Reply

